Just tried the new Colgate Wisp. Anyone want a kiss?

colgate_wisp

Is Twitter on the way out? I’m asking because I’m still on the fence about it (see my thoughts about cell phones) and this post quoted another post that raised the question.

” ‘Early adopters like a product as long as they are the early adopters for it. Once it reaches that majority status, early adopters start looking for something else to adopt . . . early.’  This is an interesting thought. Is Twitter getting too big? Is it starting to grow too much?” one or both of them wrote.

There’s so much pro and con about Twitter out there. Like here and here. Here. Here. Even here. Here’s a video called “Real Life Twitter.” And here’s a post that argues Twitter has jumped the shark. (And let me point out that the phrase “jumped the shark” itself jumped the shark long before Twitter was invented.)

The people who seem to be abandoning Twitter are the so-called early adopters. They’re the folks who, when you find out about the party and show up early, are there and already sloshed.

Early adopters are the people who dropped their gas lighting service and wired their house for electricity before anyone else. They’re the ones who decided they didn’t have to walk to the next farm to borrow an egg because they could buy a car and get there faster. And after being the first on the street with a telephone, decided there would be some worth in not depending on people calling back, and bought an answering machine so they’d never miss a call.

You see what I’m getting at? There’s still no reason they installed 8-Track players in their cars.

But the deeper questions are: how do you early adopter types see what I don’t see, and what are you seeing right now?

Cindi suggested time travel might be next, but she was joshing. I suppose. I’m curious, what’s the next big thing? What are you the first person doing? What gets you “early adopter” written all over your face?

3 Comments

Filed under internet

3 responses to “Just tried the new Colgate Wisp. Anyone want a kiss?

  1. First, thanks for the link.

    Second, I don’t consider myself an early adopter.

    I really didn’t Twitter until two things happened for me: 1) I got an iPhone, and keeping up with it on a somewhat daily basis became ALOT easier. 2) I stopped following people who tweeted every time they went to the toilet and found people who were actually spreading interesting info or at least entertaining observations.

    I’m still no Twitter guru, but I think it’s real value, as a marketer, is to have a way to easily keep a hand on the pulse of your industry through Twitter search, and to give your own brand a personality.

  2. Pingback: FM tales. « David Wrote This

Leave a Reply

